La Ola Española

La Ola Española

A new work composed specifically with the impassioned flamenco dancer Isabel Rivera Cuenca in mind. This suite of music includes 3 instrumental soloists (flamenco guitar, piano, bass clarinet) making it something of a new departure from tradition while still maintaining faithfully the essence of the flamenco form.

Isabel Rivera Cuenca travels the world extensively performing and teaching flamenco dance and is an innovator in a tradition richly embedded with the soul and fire of the Spanish Gypsy.

Line up: guitar, piano, bass clarinet, orchestra, dancer

Appearances at: TBC

(minimum orchestra size 16 players)

Note: This work is currently being composed and therefore will be ready to debut early 2018. Hear the sketch for the slow movement below.

Slow movement (La Bella Española)